The Gate and the Pool

They dismounted the Dodo and thanked him for the ride. They also decided to call him “Toc-toc” and that he was a he.

“Toc-toc!” he said in a happy mood.

“Wow, I think he said you’re welcome!” said Tenzin

“Toc-toc” repeated the Dodo and nuzzled Tenzin on her chest.

“I think Toc-toc likes you after all,” said Ilan

Tenzin sighed and then the Dodo pushed Ilan in the direction of the cave to let them know they had to go that way now.

“Thanks for everything,” said Ilan a last time before Toc-Toc disappeared into the forest.

“Cool dude that bird…” said Tenzin

Ilan shook her head indulgently.

The entry of the cave was carved as an arched door and when they stepped inside, all went pitch black.

“I hear water, Tenzin, do you?”

“Yep, it sounds like a waterfall,” said Tenzin

“Here, let’s hold hands together so we don’t get lost, I can’t see anything!” said Ilan now nervously.

They held hands and walked slowly, and with their hands that were left free they were touching the walls on both sides. The walls were cold and wet and the floor was slippery. After a few metres they saw a light at the end of the tunnel and they could see much better in the dark. Then Ilan thought that it was kind of strange that she was feeling nervous, but not scared.

“It’s funny,” said Tenzin out loud “I’m nervous but I’m not scared at all.”

“My thoughts exactly,” replied Ilan.

Now they stood in front of a big arched door, twice the size of the entrance of the cave, and on the inside the view was spectacular. A big hole pierced the roof of the cave letting the daylight come through. The light came down in several rays of sun and illuminated a small pool filled with underground water. They entered the chamber and stood before the pool.

“And now what?” said Ilan whilst staring at the pool.

“Now….we drink!”

“Drink?” Ilan frowned.

“Why not?” said Tenzin

Ilan thought it wasn’t such a bad idea, so while they kneeled they bent over the pool and collected in their palms some water, and drank.

Then in the pool appeared an image. It was a person; A woman. And she said “Friends, oh friends, you’ve come to the end of the journey, of this journey. “

“Who are you?” asked Ilan “What is your name?”

“My name, is Mika, and I’m your inner guide. In other words, it’s me who’s been guiding you all the way,” said the mysterious woman’s reflection in the pool.

“What do I do now, is that really the end of everything, of my journey?”

“It is the end of this journey, there will be more, but now you must say good-bye to Tenzin and jump in the pool to rejoin the Guild Halls.”

“Will I see Tenzin again?” asked Ilan.

“You will find all your answers at home, and at the Guild Halls, now you must leave the island…”

“I don’t like to say good bye, Tenzin,” said Ilan whilst she held Tenzin against her chest, hugging each other.

“Then say see you later, for I am sure that we will see each other soon again.”

“Then see you later, Tenzin” said Ilan trusting Tenzin’s words. And she jumped into the pool.

Tenzin stood there a moment, staring into the pool and said her last words to Ilan.

“See you later, indeed”

And she disappeared as if by magic.

About soulportrait

Michaela Devi Genaine, Spain michaeladevi@hotmail.com Although I am of Swiss origin, I have been living in Spain for 20 years. I moved to this country with my family when I was 9 years old, and have since then been involved with a broad spectrum of alternative projects, as well as being a pioneer of homeschooling. I am currently living in the Prades mountains near the Mediterranean Coast. I practice sustainable gardening, ecopsycology, art and psychosynthesis. I am fluent in English, Spanish and French.
This entry was posted in Past Travellers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

